User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My galant build. (56kgoaway)

My galant build. NOW with VIDEO!

I know some of you might be interested in this...I apologize for the crappy cell phone pictures..But I generally dont like to bring the camera out when my hands are going to be too dirty to touch it anyways.

Background:
    I bought this car last year. My buddy has bought the car at the time, because I was broke, but he backed out due to enough money being dumped into his TT stealth...So I picked it up from him for 1200, with bent valves in the head.
    We first went into this thinking it was just a fuel delivery problem or something..

Throughout this thread keep in mind, I was a FULL TIME college student, with a measily part time job paying out 7.50 an hour, I bag and sort produce, you CANNOT do this all day without going nuts. I have 100% funded this car on my own, while paying for DD's(yes multiple, I had an unexpected wreck...[see sideways car, as peter likes to refer to it]) and..having a life. I made ~6g in the past year, the majority of that is living in, or around this car, slowly, but surely.

The pickup:

This will be its home for the next few weeks:

Pull the valve cover..rockers laying all over the exhaust side..

..Move it in the garage so we can pull the head and get it all torn down and figured out (it will spend ~8 months here):

NICE! the guy got every single exhaust valve but one:

Now, valves are one thing..But seeing the pistons this bad makes me wonder what damage the crank, pistons, and rods REALLY took:

A guy I know owed me money for parts I had payed for, and never received, so he gave me his **running** GST in which I was going to steal the motor from...
    The hood flew up on him, he didnt have the title, so he left it in the field for dead..