User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 60

Thread: oh shit, i've got NAS

  1. #21
    New Bitch HUM8OLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    25
    Points
    2 (0 Banked)
    so, you can access the NAS from any computer on the wifi network? I have a gaming pc, HTPC, and a laptop, and have lots of media on the htpc.

  2. #22
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by HUM8OLT View Post
    so, you can access the NAS from any computer on the wifi network? I have a gaming pc, HTPC, and a laptop, and have lots of media on the htpc.
    yup, any computer on my network can access it.

  3. #23
    Posting Slut sauriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BALT
    Age
    31
    Posts
    362
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fangs404 View Post
    alright, i'm excited. i just bought http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127082 because it's such a deal right now. i'm anxious to get the performance i should be getting out of this guy.
    Not a bad deal.. Jumbo frames $$. I've been trying to decide on a NAS for a long time but could never make up my mind. I want something rackmountable but for some reason the performance on the rackmounts cant hold a candle to those little desktop units. Been looking at ReadyNas (Netgear), Thecus, and Synology. I should probably just go with the Thecus desktop.

  4. #24
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by sauriel View Post
    Not a bad deal.. Jumbo frames $$. I've been trying to decide on a NAS for a long time but could never make up my mind. I want something rackmountable but for some reason the performance on the rackmounts cant hold a candle to those little desktop units. Been looking at ReadyNas (Netgear), Thecus, and Synology. I should probably just go with the Thecus desktop.
    i've been really happy with this one. if you really need a NAS with some nice features that can hold a decent amount of data, i couldn't recommend this guy more. http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/compo...as/Itemid,190/ is a great resource. i used their price vs performance graph to choose the n4100pro. plus, smallnetbuilder is the de facto resource on NAS reviews. after a little research there, you should be able to get an idea of how best to spend your money.

  5. #25
    Posting Slut sauriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BALT
    Age
    31
    Posts
    362
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Yeah, been on smallnetbuilder for the past 3 weeks

    Another place I've been looking is www.readynas.com, though its mainly only about the Netgear/Infrant Readynas line

    Thanks

  6. #26
    Somewhat Poster clc2kfuzzball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Grand Ledge, Michigan USA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    326
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    very nice.

    i was looking into similar sets, to host my web design stufff.

  7. #27
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    this actually has a module for acting as a web server, so you could just set it up and forget it. pretty awesome.

  8. #28
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    the gigabit switch came today, and what a difference that made! i went from about 10-11mb/s reads/writes to 45mb/s reads and 30mb/s writes. if you get a nas, make absolutely sure you get a gigabit switch to go with it.

  9. #29
    Entensity Vet BAM720's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,252
    Points
    61 (1,199,926 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fangs404 View Post
    the gigabit switch came today, and what a difference that made! i went from about 10-11mb/s reads/writes to 45mb/s reads and 30mb/s writes. if you get a nas, make absolutely sure you get a gigabit switch to go with it.
    What are you doing with your WRT? I'm running Tomato and have all my Qos Rules set up.

  10. #30
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BAM720 View Post
    What are you doing with your WRT? I'm running Tomato and have all my Qos Rules set up.
    yup, got tomato installed. keep in mind, though, that a 10/100 switch has a max theoretical throughput of 12.5mb/s. you need a gigabit switch to get more bandwidth than that.

  11. #31
    Entensity Vet BAM720's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,252
    Points
    61 (1,199,926 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fangs404 View Post
    yup, got tomato installed. keep in mind, though, that a 10/100 switch has a max theoretical throughput of 12.5mb/s. you need a gigabit switch to get more bandwidth than that.
    Ya I have Tomato running on my WRT54G v2 which is not gigbit, I thought you had the same. So what gigbit switch are you running? How are you keeping tomato?

  12. #32
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BAM720 View Post
    Ya I have Tomato running on my WRT54G v2 which is not gigbit, I thought you had the same. So what gigbit switch are you running? How are you keeping tomato?
    well, i didn't replace the router with a switch. i simple added a switch into the mix. here's a simple diagram:



    i draw 2 arrows from the laptop because it can either connect wirelessly to the router (which is the main reason i have the router), or it can connect wired to the switch (for faster LAN transfers).

    nothing had to change with the router or with tomato. i just simply plug it into the switch. it's nice because until consumer internet becomes faster than 100mbit, i won't need to buy a new router.

  13. #33
    Entensity Vet BAM720's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,252
    Points
    61 (1,199,926 Banked)
    Ahhhh! Thanks for the diagram. I was confused and thought you replaced the router with the switch (which wouldn't make sense).

  14. #34
    mod abuse 24/7 Dr. Fangs404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Age
    32
    Posts
    23,780
    Points
    950,301 (0 Banked)
    oh, and you asked which switch. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127082 is the switch.

  15. #35
    Fuck New Bitches blue98camaro's Avatar
    Entense Supporter
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Somewhere
    Age
    34
    Posts
    373
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I ended up building a nas with the Dlink 321. Its nice.

  16. #36
    BANNED PnkRckr121's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Florida
    Age
    29
    Posts
    795
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Sweet tissue box. I've never used a RAID before. May look into it.

  17. #37
    Grand-High Poster FlyingWrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    31
    Posts
    19,882
    Points
    2 (0 Banked)
    Bump. How's it been treating you? I'm planning on getting a NAS for myself soon, and am examining my options. Any new recommendations?


  18. #38
    Posting Slut sauriel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BALT
    Age
    31
    Posts
    362
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I ended up buying from Synology a couple months ago. I got the rackmount RS409+, but the DS409/409+ is the same thing in a desktop enclosure. It's badass. Running through a gig switch I've been getting 52MB/sec transfers with jumbo 9k jumbo frames. The sweet thing about it is all the little bonuses included in the software - web server, mail server, ftp, etc etc. Id recommend it.

  19. #39
    I have lots of Seniority wyre's Avatar
    Entense Supporter
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The Wall
    Age
    34
    Posts
    43,952
    Points
    2,311 (4,060,517 Banked)
    Wait...



    or did you mean:






    -------------------------------

    EDIT:

    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHH NAS IS THE NAME OF THE SYSTEM!

    I get it now. Carry on, Sirs!
    CORN! CORN!

  20. #40
    The Fucking King! Nike_Soccer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    TEXA$$
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,702
    Points
    322 (0 Banked)
    thats awesome! cool cat too haha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •