User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Internet explorer being stupid.

  1. #1
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)

    Internet explorer being stupid.

    ... well I know the title says nothing out of the norm. It's always dumb, but I use it all the time.

    My problem lately has been IE being slow when it opens.
    It has always been speedy when I click the internet icon... it pops up very fast, and even moreso when i push ctrl + N... and now it lags.
    I dont know why it's doing this.

    I ran spybot S&D. No difference.
    I did a virus check as soon as I noticed a problem (about a week ago), no viruses.

    My startup list is, as usual, minimal and normal...

    I can't think of anything that would do this :/ any help?

    I am running Windows 2000; p4- 256mb... and usually my computer is pretty fast. (taking less than a second to open IE, but lately it takes up to 20 or even 30 seconds)


    Any suggestions?


    Oh, also, today this just started happening-- it freezes for a few seconds while a page is loading.. this isn't something my computer ever really does... i mean the page is LOADED and says DONE and i cant click anything it's really annoying.
    like say, i was browsing the forum, i have to wait like 5-10 seconds before i can click any of the threads because it's being a jerk.!!!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Master of Posting
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    31
    Posts
    8,343
    Points
    2 (0 Banked)
    switch to firefox

  3. #3
    Holy shit I rule!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    virginia
    Age
    30
    Posts
    6,645
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    try clearing your temporary internet files

    and download HijackThis! from here: http://www.spychecker.com/download/download_hijackthis.html

    scan with HT, save the log, and post it.

  4. #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    EEUU
    Age
    29
    Posts
    9,534
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    tools>internet options>advaced >restore defaults?

  5. #5
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by sinner
    try clearing your temporary internet files

    and download HijackThis! from here: http://www.spychecker.com/download/d...ijackthis.html

    scan with HT, save the log, and post it.
    i cleared them... and no change.
    what is hijack this?
    what is HT?

  6. #6
    Grand-High Poster TheKarmaPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of the Poutine
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17,979
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    HT = Hijack This

  7. #7
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by TheKarmaPolice
    HT = Hijack This
    oh, well.. DUH.
    <-------------------------- dumb.

  8. #8
    Grand-High Poster TheKarmaPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of the Poutine
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17,979
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    s'ok

    Blame it on...fatigue, yeah.

  9. #9
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    ok, i have the HTlog now...
    should i really post it here? won't that make my computer somewhat vulnerable, or no?

  10. #10
    Holy shit I rule!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    virginia
    Age
    30
    Posts
    6,645
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    How could it make you vulnerable?

  11. #11
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by sinner
    How could it make you vulnerable?
    i dunno...




    don't hack me plz.


    http://www.flightless.dismissed.org/htlog.txt

    won't let me attach it to the message!

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Gouranga's Avatar
    Entense Supporter
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    somewhere between realms
    Age
    33
    Posts
    12,674
    Points
    637 (0 Banked)
    make your homepage

    about:blank

    and try it again.

  13. #13
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by Gouranga
    make your homepage

    about:blank

    and try it again.
    still slow.

    i think it's slower than it was yesterday. it's sooo annoying!!!!

  14. #14
    Grand-High Poster TheKarmaPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of the Poutine
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17,979
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by Gouranga
    make your homepage

    about:blank

    and try it again.
    Actually that still opens a page, it's blank, but it's still a page

    Here's how you can run IE without it running a page at the beggining:

    Make a shortcut for IE, then right-click->Properties

    You should see this in Target: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE"

    just add -nohome so it should look like:

    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

    in the target box.

    The results aren't enormous, but it's better than nothing

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Gouranga's Avatar
    Entense Supporter
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    somewhere between realms
    Age
    33
    Posts
    12,674
    Points
    637 (0 Banked)
    i wasn't trying o have her open a non-existent page, i just wanted to see if it was her connnection or possible the homepage she was using.

  16. #16
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by TheKarmaPolice
    Actually that still opens a page, it's blank, but it's still a page

    Here's how you can run IE without it running a page at the beggining:

    Make a shortcut for IE, then right-click->Properties

    You should see this in Target: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE"

    just add -nohome so it should look like:

    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

    in the target box.

    The results aren't enormous, but it's better than nothing


    it's EVERY page that i load that's slow.
    not just the first one.
    like... when i try to view the forum for example.. i see everything.. everything is loaded but i can't click anything or scroll or do ANYTHING until the status bar at teh bottom of the page is done...
    and it takes a few seconds for it to finish. it hasn't ever done this, except for lately.

  17. #17
    Grand-High Poster TheKarmaPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of the Poutine
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17,979
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by Gouranga
    i wasn't trying o have her open a non-existent page, i just wanted to see if it was her connnection or possible the homepage she was using.
    oh...sorry heh

    but doing that does help IE open a little faster.

    Originally posted by Flightless
    it's EVERY page that i load that's slow.
    not just the first one.
    like... when i try to view the forum for example.. i see everything.. everything is loaded but i can't click anything or scroll or do ANYTHING until the status bar at teh bottom of the page is done...
    and it takes a few seconds for it to finish. it hasn't ever done this, except for lately.

    Did you do something out of the ordinary before it started doing this?

  18. #18
    Queen of Healthcare Flightless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    29,706
    Points
    85 (0 Banked)
    Originally posted by TheKarmaPolice
    oh...sorry heh

    but doing that does help IE open a little faster.




    Did you do something out of the ordinary before it started doing this?
    nope... nothing :/

    |
    V an example of what happens

    http://www.flightless.dismissed.org/cantdoshit.jpg

  19. #19
    Holy shit I rule!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    virginia
    Age
    30
    Posts
    6,645
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    LEXPPS.EXE
    The above program is from your printer. It is responsible for a lot of pain, in some ways it is worse than some spyware. Remove it.

    mxtask.exe
    Seems to be useless.

    realsched.exe
    WTF are you doing with Real media player?

    n3tpa1.dll
    ADWARE DETECTED! http://sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/adware.netpal.html

    I would remove this too:

    O2 - BHO: NavErrRedir Class - {5D60FF48-95BE-4956-B4C6-6BB168A70310} - C:\PROGRA~1\INCRED~1\BHO\INCFIN~1.DLL (file missing)

  20. #20
    Grand-High Poster TheKarmaPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of the Poutine
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17,979
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Check for doubtful programs in MsConfig->Startup too

    Uncheck everything you think could be harmful, or useless...

    If you don't know what to uncheck, just post the entire Startup list here...don't worry it won't make your computer vulnerable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •